There are chemicals in many bottom paint strippers that serve to help the chemicals that break down old paint penetrate layers and layers of old paint. Good Old Boat contributing editor and former chemist, Drew Frye, shared with us an emphatic warning to beware of these chemicals, as they are effective at penetrating the layers of your skin.

Especially if you’ve switched to a non-carcinogenic, soy-based stripper, I encourage you to read what Drew has to say about N-Methylpyrilidone (NMP) and precautions you can take and alternatives you can consider. His story, including helpful links, is here.

Then I saw this: Lowe’s bans paint strippers after protest campaign

Wear protective gear when working with chemicals that pose a risk to your health.


In our announcement last month of Marion McCall as our Dogwatch Sailor of the Month, we got our wires crossed referencing Lake Ontario’s Hamilton Bay. Sharp-eyed reader Barry McKee reminded us that Hamilton Bay is at the extreme west end of Lake Ontario.


On August 19, at the Kingston Yacht Club in Kingston, Ontario, the following Canadian citizens will be inducted into the Canadian Sailing Hall of Fame:

  • Ian Bruce – Renowned International 14 sailor, two-time winner of the prestigious Prince of Wales Cup in England, two-time Olympic sailor, founder of Performance Sailcraft, builder of International 14s, initiator and builder of the Laser. Officer of the Order of Canada. (RSTLYC)
  • Don Green – Winner of 1978 Canada’s Cup in the C&C Evergreen, member of 1979 Canadian Admirals’ Cup team in 1979 and survivor of the devastating 1979 Fastnet Race, SORC campaigns in Frers-designed Evergreen II, America’s Cup Challenger in 12 Metre True North. Member of the Order of Canada (RHYC)
  • Derek Hatfield – Renowned single-handed round-the-world racer, winning first-in-class in the 2001/02 Around Alone, raced the 2008 Vendee Globe and in 2010 Derek once again took the podium in the VELUX 5 Oceans single-handed Round The World Race, Recipient of Rolex Sailor of the Year; won Sail Canada’s and Ontario Sailing’s Sailor of the Year awards in 2003.
  • David Howard – Winner of 1954 Canada’s Cup in the 8-Metre Venture II, Skipper 1956 Olympics in Dragons, Sailing Master on off-shore racers Inishfree and Bonaventure (Bermuda races and SORCs), Skipper and syndicate member of True North in 1969 Canada’s Cup trials, Skipper and Syndicate member of 1975 Canada’s Cup challenger Marauder, Past Commodore and Honourary Life Member of RCYC, one of the original four founders of the Nonsuch class (RCYC)
  • 1932 Olympic Silver Medalists – Eight Metres – Ernest Cribb, Peter Gordon, George Gyles, Harold Jones, Ronald Maitland, Hubert Wallace – (RVYC)
  • 1932 Olympic Bronze Medalists – Six Metres – Gardner Boultbee, Kenneth Glass, Philip Rogers, Gerald Wilson – (RVYC)